1. Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Has anyone on the spectrum self taught themselves to play instruments?

Discussion in 'Movies, Music & Television' started by MsGyver, Mar 5, 2020.

1. MsGyver

MsGyver New Member

If so where did you start? I tried teaching myself to play guitar but I quickly got very lost and discouraged, mostly because I've never had a problem teaching myself how to do something. Music is one of my passions and I don't want to give up learning about it! <3 Any suggestions would be helpful :)

• Like Like x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  2. Bolletje

Bolletje Overly complicated potato V.I.P Member

I taught myself to play piano.

• Like Like x 2
  3. Anjy

Anjy Mi estas weirdo, granda weirdo...

I taught myself the guitar. I started with accompanying songs I knew, just the chords, and later I tried to pick melodies. But I was 17 at that time and had tons of time since i had no friends. I later tried the recorder, clarinet and accordion and got as far that I liked to listen to myself playing. But only songs I know and like, not from sheet music.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Schism

Schism Well-Known Member