• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Words, and Misreading or Misunderstand

Diagnosed2015

V.I.P Member
I'm not sure whether this is an "Aspie" thing, an ADHD thing, or a bit of both, but it's happening more and more frequently.

I'm a writer, and have a "better than average" vocabulary, and I'm obsessed with word games. I understand the obsession to the words is part of an Aspie thing, which makes wonderful sense to me, because sometimes I think I'm more obsessed with writing the letters neatly in their little boxes, than I am to actually solving the puzzles, because many of the puzzles are very easy for me. (I do Hard-level puzzles, with erasable ink or white out, when needed).

However, for as long as I can remember, I often "misread" a clue word to the point of completely misunderstanding. It doesn't happen just in puzzles; I notice when I'm reading a post on Facebook, or reading e-mail, or a news story online, I often have to read it more than once, because I am misreading a word, which is changing the context of what I am reading.