• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

What do you think about this?

I’m not a doctor but was curious about this when I researched it. You probably all know that boys are four times more likely to get autism, but I was like why is that? So I looked it up and found something interesting. According to Health line, girls have more protective genetic factors to keep them from getting autism.

If that’s true, it’s a mystery why I have autism as a woman. Unless I was misdiagnosed and maybe have something else. but I took the test, answered the questions and according to my answers, it was seen that I have trouble putting myself in someone else’s shoes so to speak.

My doctor I saw at the time confirmed Asperger’s (Now called high functioning autism). The extreme male brain, I found out is when a baby is more vulnerable to testosterone levels in the womb. I was wondering what everyone thought about this, and why you think women can get autism too if this is true. I’m guessing something like genetics or environmental factors?

I can't speak with regards to the article in Healthline, but I believe (my unprofessional view anyway) is that autism tends to be lower in actual diagnosed cases in girls as compared to boys.