• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Question for drawers/painters. How long did it take you to get good at it?

i've only recently started to get into art and while its fun, its kind of the same experience i had with guitar. starting out very mediocre and messing up alot. i know im still learning so im curious about the rest of you

Messing up in what way? Usually a mistake is based off our expectations. Just do a Bob Ross and turn a "mistake" into a happy little accident.

I take quite long hiatuses from art and for some reason when I return my skills are more refined. I didn't draw for about 5 years after school and being denied by my parents to study art in college. Then I started drawing; but from my imagination as I'm no good at landscapes, portraits and copying from real life. Can't capture any essence or resemblence when copying, so I just stick to what's inside my head.

Ed

Messing up in what way? Usually a mistake is based off our expectations. Just do a Bob Ross and turn a "mistake" into a happy little accident.