• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Mary Anne

V.I.P Member
All I want to do (or can do) is hyper focus and be a studio fine artist up it’s not financially or remotely possible. Back in the 1980s, I was a professional artist who created illustrations, animations, and advertising for corporations (pre computer society). I did not have to deal with people, or leave my studio unless to acquire or deliver jobs. A lot of crap happened (including addictions) and I wound up not working for decades (went in disability). Now, I have to work, and want to work (and kicked off disability- long story).

Jobs are all horrible!!! Lots of noise, people, technology to constantly keep up with. Gone are days of relaxing, focused work. I miss the old days when craftsmen worked alone, with their hands. My dream would be to live alone in a rural area, and be productive in quiet, without glaring lights, tons of human interactions. All I can get in my big city are jobs in customer service which is in a harsh gigantic store like Walmart, or Home Depot. How are folks here finding employment that fits their aspie needs?