• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

What do you think about social skills training for adults on the spectrum?

catharus

Hello all, this is my first post on the forum. I'm a Clinical Psychology student who is not on the spectrum. I'm posting because I would like to hear opinions of people on the spectrum about social skills training for adults with ASD. First, let me clarify that I'm talking about social skills training that usually occurs in group format and is designed to teach people with ASD how to interact with others in a manner that is more like typical individuals who are not on the spectrum. For example, there is the PEERS program, which takes people with ASD through many aspects of social interaction and breaks down everyday social interactions into component parts so that they can be learned and practiced/replicated by people with ASD.