• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

[Personal Question] Postgraduate Student: Should AS Be a Secret?

yuurei

I am a reasonably successful student with roughly a 3.3-3.45 GPA in a number of honours organizations as well as other high profile student groups, professional associations, with numerous internships, and scholarships. I am preparing this next year to begin applying to graduate schools after my thesis presentation late 2013. My biggest concern at the moment is that my grades appear very sporadic; many A's and B's with more than a few F's, C's, and D's sprinkled all over. I am coming to realize, with the help of a psychologist, that a great deal of the problems I have had largely come down to symptoms of relatively recently diagnosed AS. I have discussed this matter with my councilor and my psychologist, but both hesitate to give me a real answer. I fear they may be afraid of at once giving sound advice and possibly making me feel ashamed at the same time. So, I thought I may ask among this community to see if anyone has experience or just an opinion on the matter: