• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

My Special interest is a Romantic person and now they are gone

Miniguns

Hi All,

This is my first time being here and posting and I have a huge overwhelming issue I cannot get past, I was dating a person for 5 years and because I got myself so focused on her struggles and her mental health I never realized how my autism would affect the relationship and things, we had a lot of outside interference and stresses on our relationship as well as mistakes made on my part but we stuck together,

Recently she reached a mental breaking point due to a lot going on and a protection response Her brain has walled off her attachment to me, effectively ending our relationship abruptly and maybe indefinite,

The problem is my attachment is still there, I realize I was only as functional as I was because she was my goal and my purpose, our future was what I aimed for so it was all I functioned for, now that she is gone I am in a horrendous state and don't know how to carry on,

To me, it feels like I have managed to break a soul bond, an unbreakable fact of life all because I never paid attention to my autism's effect on the relationship,