• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Autistic husband???

Loopy lou

Hi everyone
Im new here so please bear with me.
Im a teacher so i have a little knowledge of autism and have taught kids with autism.
Im convinced my husband has autism and i need help. I love him dearly but he can be such hard work at times.
Everything is so black and white with him, his routine CANNOT change and he really lacks empathy.
Does anyone know where i can look for support???

Hi Loopy lou, I'm not a man, but I am 46 years old, female, and just got diagnosed last year. Around the time of my diagnosis, I divorced an extremely extroverted, NT man who knew absolutely nothing about autism (he still doesn't know much about it, actually).

I feel for you. A lot of people think all autistic people do not experience empathy. Maybe some do not. I experience profound emotional empathy. What I lack is cognitive empathy. I may sense that you are unhappy or feeling a strong negative emotion, but I have trouble understanding why. It would be interesting to hear about some of your interactions with your husband.

It is terrible to be with someone who truly has no idea who s/he is--my ex-husband and I experienced a lot of frustration and confusion on a daily basis for almost 20 years. I hope he is happier now!