• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Autism and being successful at work

Heyphelpsy

Hi!! This is my first post! Anyone here had long term success with staying in a career? My work is a very social profession. I've been struggling for 4 years. But this is what I got my degree in so I'm here for the rest of my life. Wondering if anyone has advice for social work environments and if it's possible to be successful and happy. I'd love to hear any work success stories that people want to share. I hope I made this post correctly!

Hello and welcome!

I think i can answer that since i have a degree of law! Although it took me some time to get confidence in my work, i actually really like my field. In fact it became a special interest even.

In college i had major problems with anxiety/depression and i suspect that also affected my grades. I was sure that i wouldn't be able to work anywhere let alone being a lawyer.
After i got my degree and permit which in my country isn't hard to get, for a long time i didn't work. Didn't even look for a job since i was sure i couldn't do it.