• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

New job prospect, torn about what to do

Ronin82

Dog Trainer Extraordinaire
V.I.P Member
So I have an opportunity to get a job in my field as a peer counselor with a local Mental health organization. The pay isn't great, but its in the field my degree is in (psychology). On one hand, this job offers a W-2, benefits, and since mental issues are a requirement of the position I'm assuming they will be more willing to accommodate for those issues. I just don't know if I really want to spend so much time counseling people. Its kind of a PTSD trigger on top of the whole Aspie thing of social difficulties, long work hours, environmental conditions, dressing a certain way, etc. I've sent in my application, don't expect to hear back from them since I requested more money than the position is offering (they only require a HS diploma, I have a Bachelor's). SHOULD they call me for an interview, I'm going to give it my best shot, but I'm wondering if I should be completely honest with them about the difficulties the job presents me. I'll be needing longer breaks and lunches since my Service Dog will be with me, and if I can swing it, a shorter working day.