• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Pinkie B

Just Me
Hi.

I just found out that I'm on the autistic spectrum. I'm 35 and I have two Ivy League degrees. I'm a professor (though probably not for much longer) and I live in Japan. I've spent my whole life struggling with the same issues that I always thought I could eventually train myself out of -- issues like shutting down when I'm overstimulated, always interrupting people and never knowing if I'm doing the conversation thing right, suddenly finding that people that I thought were my friends now hate me and want me crucified (they never explain why), and more -- and I've had limited success at best. I've been officially diagnosed with ADHD and chronic anxiety and I somehow thought that it was me, that I just needed to "be better" or practice my relaxation or my time management techniques more and that somehow I'd become normal or something.

But now realizing that I'm autistic (Aspergers? I know there is no official distinction anymore), it suddenly all makes sense.

...and even as it makes sense, I feel an intense loss and also relief. And also like I just woke up naked in Time's Square (or Shinjuku. Whatever).