• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Finding a Job/Employment

RosieSweets

Hi guys,

I am currently studying Autism in my final year and i am starting a research based project with aims to raise awareness for the struggles individual's face when it comes to finding employment, and to promote charities and organisations that provide support for these issues.

I'd be so grateful for anyone who can contact me (privately if you wish) and discuss with me your experiences in finding employment as someone on the spectrum.

Thanks everyone!

Rosie :)

Finding employment is difficult for some. But many can get by that step. Its keeping the job, designed for neurotypicals, that is perhaps the most common problem.

In a Seller's Market economy, the skilled among us can find employment, even if we are the last ones to be considered.

I worked for three years at Motorola. While there, I developed a patented item for them. (It is now owned by Google.) They moved their factory out of my commuting range (possibly due to my research for them) and I couldn't get work anywhere else since (a patent notwithstanding)!

In a Buyer's Market economy, employers have no reason to consider our skills (with our attendant communication issues) when there are so many other skilled candidates to be found (without such handicaps).