• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Aspergers and Itching Attacks?

Allana

Hello Everyone

I'm new to this (Chat room/board). My son is 16 and has been put on the spectrum. He gets horrible itching attacks. The doctor says it's stress related. We have tried everything to resolve the issue (food, detergents, etc). The attacks stopped for quite some time but have recently returned.

Does anyone have any experience with this?

If he drinks chlorine dioxide, the answer is pretty easy to figure out.

If not, it could be the texture of his clothing or food allergies or that he burns easily (in the sun, for instance) or hair growth (god, sometimes I think I can feel my nails grow, let alone body hair) or any number of other things related to hypersensitivity.

Hyposensitivity too, if he touches say nettles or sandpaper without noticing until much later when it itches.

I would add, it's probably stress related not because the stress causes the itching (although some people do get hives), but rather because stress increases hypersensitivity for many of us. Therefore, if he is sensitive to something or prone to dry skin or has thyroid issues (many here do), those things could be more noticeable / more irritable than usual when he's under stress.