• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Recently diagnosed.

elirawr

Proud mother of an aspie.
Hello there, I am fairly new here to AC but I have been lurking around a little. I will introduce myself a bit and my son.

I am 26 and a single mother. I am currently studying from home to get a diploma in community services work. I also suffer from depression and anxiety.

My son is 7 in March and was recently diagnosed with Asperger's. It all started to come forward when he started kinder last year and things got worse throughout this year with him having even more meltdowns in classes at school. His teacher and I spoke and talked about his anxiety issues also and she suggested that i speak to my GP and see what they thought. After going through with that she hinted as asperger's but knew she couldn't give a diagnosis so she referred me to a psych to get that on the ball. After a few sessions and a video that I recorded from home of one of his meltdowns (because Master S was a well behaved boy during our sessions) we got our diagnosis that he was level 1 Aspergers.