• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Not sure how to handle this...

LostInSilentHill

Terrible Gaurdian Angel
So, I'm not very good with handling people who are upset. When it's something small, I can usually feign sympathy and give very uncomfortable hugs and that enough. But...

Well a few days ago my step-father passed away (suicide), and while this was quite a shock when I first heard about it, I recovered pretty quickly. Despite knowing him for 20 odd years, I never really formed an attachment to him, so his death didn't really affect me. Unfortunately, it affected my family rather more, especially my brother and mother who were the ones to find him.

The last two days I've spent over at my mother house with the family as they grieved and it's been hard. I am very uncomfortable around them when they are crying, the hugs are very long (with everybody, even people I don't normally touch), and everyone is telling me they love me and I have to say it back (I hate saying it, don't know why).