• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Needing someplace to get support

Hi, all, and thanks for letting me join! I am a Nurse Practitioner, married for 24 years to my husband who is a college professor. Gradually, over the years, I have realized that he is probably on the autism spectrum, though he refuses to consider the possibility. I am needing help in trying to figure out if I am reading the situation correctly, and also needing to learn how to deal with this better before it destroys our marriage--I am very committed to him, but am also deeply unhappy. And sometimes I just need a place to vent. Hoping I can find this here, since I don't want to hurt him by talking to mutual friends or family members.

upload_2020-10-17_23-12-46.png

Hi Jen
Welcome here and I hope you find it as welcoming here as I did. There are a number of us in relationships with neurotypical (non autistic) partners, so I am sure we can get a conversation going about that! Having said that, everyone and every relationship is different and not everything will be applicable.