• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Knowledge seeker

Wander

Hello. I've been lurking around for a few months, reading all I can about Asperger's to better understand myself. As a fiction writer, I was doing research for a character when I first began reading about autism, and quickly noticed how much I related to what I read. Intensely.

Quick Question: Is Asperger's truly separate from autism, or are they the same? Autism is a spectrum, so differentiating Asperger's from autism makes very little sense. Wouldn't "Asperger's" just be a particular set of traits on the spectrum?

Anyway, I don't have any real support or understanding on this matter, so I might turn to this site if I have questions or concerns. I try not to be long winded. Thanks for having me.

welcome.png

Quick Question: Is Asperger's truly separate from autism, or are they the same? Autism is a spectrum, so differentiating Asperger's from autism makes very little sense. Wouldn't "Asperger's" just be a particular set of traits on the spectrum?

Welcome to AC.