• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Hi there!

star.stuff

Hi everyone,

(disclosure) - I would like to apologize in advance if anything I say is offensive. I don't mean that at all and I am still new to all of this

My name is Danielle. I am 26 years old. I guess I am just starting my journey to see if I am living with ASD. I always felt like an alien - I never really wanted to play with other kids, and it seemed like the whole world overwhelmed me. However, even though I have a masters degree in social work, I never suspected I could be living with ASD. Ignorantly, when I thought of someone with autism, I always pictured a young boy rocking back and forth. I thought that was the only form that autism could take. After doing extensive research, I believe I am on the spectrum. I am currently seeking to get formally evaluated, but I wanted to ask a question of those who have been there before:

How do you go about asking your parents if they saw any signs when you were a toddler/child?