• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Employment

EmmaJC

Currently having issues with my employers. I'm a teacher with HFA (Aspergers) - this is just what was given to me after my assessment, really not sure which is the correct terminology now.

My employers keep changing things on me last minute and I'm finding my behaviour is becoming more and more unacceptable when this happens. I have some quite spectacular meltdowns that are usually confined to a toilet but often I find myself in situations where I'm forced to have to respond now my level of responsibility has changed.

I'm worried my behaviour will lose my my job and I really have worked so hard to get there.

Anyone else have these problems or any advice? Thanks in advance :)

Have you disclosed your diagnosis with your employers? If you feel comfortable revealing the diagnosis you should tell them of the implications it has on your inability to handle sudden change, you could ask for them to give you more time to adjust.

Yeah they're fully aware - that's what's so frustrating. They will obviously compromise in ways for me that I'm not even aware of and other than this one issue they're amazing employers. It's so upsetting because the school feels like my home and I love my job. I just can't keep having such frequent meltdowns, I'm exhausted.