• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Aging Autistic Programmer

johnsmith1981

Hello, Everyone,

I'm a new member. I work as a software engineer. I was diagnosed with high-functioning autism as a child.

Recently I've been having some hard experiences at work around having to deal with waaayyy too much socializing for the career I chose and I decided that it might be a good idea to get in touch with other adults on the spectrum in professional fields and share knowledge.

Welcome to the forum.

I'm also an aging programmer, though only recently diagnosed. It was actually me noticing how poorly I was dealing with stress and change at work that led to me being diagnosed.

Programming used to be where they give you a job, leave you alone, and you tell them when you're done. Now, it's agile, and sprints, and daily updates, and it feels like stress all the time.

Welcome to the forum.

I'm also an aging programmer, though only recently diagnosed. It was actually me noticing how poorly I was dealing with stress and change at work that led to me being diagnosed.

Programming used to be where they give you a job, leave you alone, and you tell them when you're done. Now, it's agile, and sprints, and daily updates, and it feels like stress all the time.