• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

When does autism become an excuse?

yaeuhw

My wife has a 19 yr old son with autism. He has been on several different meds and seems to be getting better anger wise but now has become more needy. I am fairly new in his life and have had many rage filled issues with him but I am not his biological father so my say is limited. My wife uses his autism for just about everything. I believe he can be taught to clean his room, which is always a complete dump but he complains and denies its his mess. Oh and another thing is she buys him just about whatever he wants and I don't feel that is right. My concerns or complaints are always met with denial and blow backs from her. She won't join any support groups which also concerns me. Before I get to my wits end when does the autism become an excuse?

Last edited:
No excuse for a messy room or direct disobedience. If you can take a fully grown aspy, put them in your son's shoe and they can't think of a good excuse.... well. You have your answer.

I wouldn't go off the deep end. Rather cultivate obedience and nurture love.