• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Temple Grandin is so awesome she's getting her own beer

I'm brand new to being curious about this lady.
I watched the video of the interview she gave (in your link @Butterfly) - thanks for that.

I really liked what she said about children on the spectrum and her own mother's attitude toward her upbringing.
"Too over-shouldered, stretch 'em, get 'em out there, let them do something they're really good at"

Loved that part :)

I respect Dr. Grandin's accomplishments and work ethic, and her love and devotion for animals, and any perserverance she faced in life from being on the Spectrum, but not necessarily do I understand or respect her views about Autistics and work. And if she wants to promote a beer, that is fine. It is her life. Whatever makes her happy.

Despite her being an inspiration to many others, and a huge success, I feel Dr. Grandin now has that extra responsibility to be even more careful with her words and actions, as what she says or does may influence others, and not always in the best way if she does not for instance clarify or retract a certain statement or article that can be misleading or offensive..