• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Newbie here...my dad has autism

fsgirl

hi to all... just found this site!!! Have been looking for support like this for a long time. I’ve finally figured out my 80 yr old father has autism. That was part of the reason my childhood as a NT child was so difficult. He & my mother were overly strict & controlling of me but my younger brother had more freedom than I was allowed to have.

Does anyone have suggestions on whether or not I should tell him at his age that he is autistic? I know this is bad, but I resent him and how he and Mother treated me. We could never have fun or just play and be kids. We had to do work all the time. I had to be an adult when I was a kid and then when I became an adult I was treated like a child.

There is so much, much more but I don’t want to post too much on my first post. One question though...is it a common trait that people with autism think they are right about everything and are very negative?
Thanks in advance

upload_2018-12-13_11-50-39.png

What you describe in his behavior are traits found in neurotypicals as much if not more, as in autistics. Are you sure you have the right forum?