• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Introduction

katiemary

Hi I don't really know what to say so don't judge me. My name is Katie and I am 15 years old. I'm a sophomore in high school in northern Indiana. I was diagnosed with dyspraxia at the age of 3, my mom and brother have it too. I realized about a year ago that my unusual traits went beyond those of dyspraxia so I began to look into it. Half of dyspraxics have Aspergers, from looking into it I realized I had quite a lot of autistic traits. My parents at first didn't want to believe my diagnosis but eventually came to terms with it. Most people don't realize I have autism I think I appear pretty normal at school. Some of my unusual traits are: deep thinker, spacing out constantly, high intelligence as I score in at least the 90 percentile on every standardized test, naive, feelings of isolation, odd obsessions, trouble making and keeping friends, anxiety, fear of social situations, bad hand eye coordination, sensitive to noise, sensitive to light, lack of empathy, imitates others, offends others easily, notices patterns easily and I'm very blunt. My autism has made it very hard for me to feel normal. I have "friends" but I honestly can't relate to them except 1, she has Aspergers too. I go to parties and football games like every teenager I just fee