• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

I was told I need to do "networking"...

Aspea

Sorry, I'm venting a little in this thread...

I graduated college years ago without the slightest clue what networking meant, or that "making connections" was even important. I thought that the way it works was like this: Study hard, get good grades, graduate, apply to Job A, the most qualified candidate would then get Job A. The end. I'm still not sure why it doesn't work out that way. Is it because there's way too much competition for the "good jobs," and so there has to be a system to ration and delegate the jobs (other than the most fair way, which is by who is the most qualified)?

I recall a college acquaintance of mine getting an internship position that I was trying to get. I asked him how he got the internship. He said the boss goes to his church. Wow, that really felt unfair.

Because I failed to network (I guess?), I was quite unsuccessful in gaining employment working for others, so I started my own business and became self-employed.