• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

I was scammed today...and I feel so dumb

Jorg

As the title says...I was scammed, seriously, Im an electronic engineer, I was always suspicious and didn't trust almost anything...

In the afternoon I received a call from my bank, as I had saved the number in my phone I answered. They said they were calling from Fraud department, someone tried to transfer a lot of money and tried to buy some computer equipment, they had the location, IP, name adn that it was made from an Iphone 11. We needed to block my accounts and my passwords. While that I was thinking on the back of my mind, DONT GIVE ANY PASSWORD, NOT PIN NUMBERS.

Anyway, it was purely social engineering, they made me change my bank password by one "the bank sent to my mail"...as I was feeling anxious and angry because someone tried to scam me my focus probably faded.

Anyway, in that bank I had only like $5...but the guy on the call said to me that as a precaution they needed to alert other banks I could have. So I felt for that, I never gave them any password but I did gave them my number account because I tought it was something normal, I mean, I give that number to my brother or someone else so they can transfer money to my account if needed, but never a password, because it is not needed.