• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

"Here In My Car..." Driving as a Stim

Yeshuasdaughter

You know, that one lady we met that one time.
V.I.P Member
Does anyone else get into a pleasant aspie zone when they're driving?

I absolutely adore driving. I am very good at it.

I started learning to drive when I was maybe three. My mom would have to grab something and she'd say "Hold the wheel for a sec." And I used to freak out, but by the time I was about six or seven I could hold the wheel and even go around curves in the road while she was fishing around in her purse or fumbling in the glove box.

When I was eight, I started being allowed to sit in the driver's seat. I was initially pretty bad at it. But then my friends got quads, and I used to go over there and we'd ride all over the dirt roads and it became instinct on when to jump the potholes or change gears. I applied that to driving and it became very pleasurable.

By the time I was twelve, my dad was letting me drive to school (we lived eight miles from town). This was in the early 1990s. I was also allowed to drive over the coast range in Southern CA to Laguna Beach or Oceanside. That was fun! This was of course with them in the car too.