• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Feedback from parents/Aspies please...

Sass

Ok, I've had an idea (so bear in mind, it's in its infancy and needs some work!).

As is probably slightly obvious from a lot of my posts, I write and edit for a living, and I feel that those skills have helped me a lot over the years, especially not knowing I was an Aspie until recently. I could express myself and get my rage/obsessions/joys out of me in a constructive way, without the judgement of the wider world weighing down on me. The amazing thing about writing is that you can turn it into anything you like, especially if you go back and edit it afterwards as the mood takes you (and the mood does tend to take me, more often than not lol). Fact can become fiction, and often, fiction becomes a very valid and wonderful exploration of the facts of our souls.