• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Does having ASD make it tougher to learn drawing fundamentals?

Slime_Punk

 Please erase
V.I.P Member
Hey everyone!

I've been designing (as a hobby) for a few years now, and recently I decided to try my hand at actual drawing and... well, I'm pretty terrible. I'm not sure if this is an ASD-specific problem (probably not, since most of you can probably draw and paint amazing pictures), but I feel like there's so much to learn and I can't fit it all in my brain.

I've actually had this problem with music, despite doing this as a hobby for the past 15+ years; theory doesn't come natural to me, and I feel like I have a mental block. I can do a lot of heavy design tricks (similar to the visual art problem) but can't seem to nail those basic fundamentals.

Does anyone else have this problem and feel like they're doing everything in reverse to what NT's would do? And should I accept my lot in life as a designer or try to force myself to learn those basic fundamentals instead?

Everything is practice, when you learned graphic design was what you produced perfect in the first few minutes, i learn somethings quickly some very slowly ,it depends on if it satisfies me .

it's as much about the journey as it is about the destination enjoy from start to finish! let go!.