• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Touch Research

EllieMSC

Introduction:
Hi I'm Ellie and I am a masters student at the University of Newcastle currently. I am also a medical student with a particular interest in psychiatry and early diagnosis of ASD particularly in females. I am conducting research into touch for my dissertation hopefully.

About the research:
  • I'm investigating the link between touch and social skills.
  • There i has been previous research demonstrating that sensory processing can be a huge problem in autism but very little done in touch and how medical professionals can assess this.
  • I aim to find out if touch in particular is a problem in autism and how that impacts peoples daily lives.
  • The questionnaire takes about 15 minutes and is completely anonymous.
  • The research has ethical approval from the University of Newcastle
If you have any questions or want more information please get in touch at: [email protected]

Survey Link:
http://nclpsych.eu.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_eVPToGcGzLFcVs9

I think it's important to note that touching objects might be gratifying while there's a dislike for touching another person.

Yeah, a lot of them I only agreed with part of the statement so how do you know what the results are?

"Are you happy or sad sometimes?"
Yes.