• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

The Terror of Finishing Things.

gregmcph

Just curious to see if this is just my own personal weirdness.
I'm a Computer Programmer by trade (yes, cliche). I can spend weeks, even months working on a piece of software, and then one day, it gets to a stage when I can try it out. Click on an Icon, and make the program run. And that frightens me.

That moment when all the abstract ideas and algorithms become Reality. What if it doesn't work? (well, if it doesn't, and the first time it probably wont, you fix it. simple). But it gives me genuine stress.

And I find that in real life too. The terror of an approaching appointment date. Or the terror of a ball arriving at my feet in a game of soccer. She is kissing me NOW, and I have to react to this NOW. Fear of the Future arriving and needing to be dealt with.

Anyway, just a random thing in my head wanting to be let out.

Well, the Jungians call that Perceiving (as opposed to Judging). Trust me, that's why I can't, for example, ask women out. (Not that I've wanted to in the last several years, but you get the idea.)

The uncertainty of looking over a completed project (I write, any programming is a relief to finish) can make me nervous. I view it as more suspense than terror, though.