• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Newbie here...

TheAbbyCat

Hello everyone,

I am a 29 year old female who was just recently diagnosed with Aspergers. It has been a huge adjustment period and I am still trying to understand everything that comes with the diagnosis.
I have known all my life I was "different" than most kids, and parents and teachers would also often comment, but my parents never took notice. It is hard thinking I have lived all my life never knowing about this, and that my parents were to involved in their own lives to notice. I wonder what my childhood would have been like if I was taught the skills I needed, and still do.

I am trying to learn as much as I can but still feel lost, Any tips or advice would be nice.

Hello, Abby! :)

I was in a similar situation a few years ago when I found out---in my case, I just managed to stay off the "autism radar." Now I know that some of my social awkwardness comes from my Asperger's.

I'm still learning new things about myself as they relate to autism---and that's okay, because I know I can get answers from my therapist and from fellow Aspies. Please don't hesitate to ask questions as you make yourself at home here!

I am in the same boat as you. I have only just come across this site, there is so much great info here though!

Hi by the way :D