• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

My thoughts loop like gifs

D'Andre

As a musician, I'm sometimes kept awake with lines of songs, movie lines, and imaging playing over and over in my head. Sometimes aa my eyes are closed, I see objects moving in loops and its like perfect repetition. Is that an ASD thing?

I dunno but I certainly get that. Sometimes all it takes is to hear a couple of words that could be in a song lyric and my heads off in a loop with that song playing in my head. I sometimes wonder if that's how echolalia works?

I'd be reticent to put something like that into a box. "Loopy" thoughts and images probably appear to a subset of people all across the NT/ND continuum. Whether they are more frequent in ND, I don't know, but one of the best books I've read on not-so-unusual mental phenomena is called Hallucinations, by Oliver Sacks. While you're probably not hallucinating (more like daydreaming? - related thing though), that's not all that's discussed in the book, and it's a fascinating and accessible read. You might really enjoy it - there's all sorts of fascinating things our brains get up to!