• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

My city is boring! Or at least my first reaction...

Sherlock77

V.I.P Member
I stopped by a local coffee shop and one of the books for customers to read was the "Humans of New York" photo book (I don't live in New York)

As a street photographer I decided to look through it as I had a coffee, as I am well aware of this photo project

First reaction? Amazing photos, and yeah, where I live good luck even finding people like that, plus not all of the photos fit what I thought the project is about, and there are some interesting people here but they aren't all that numerous, admittedly our population numbers aren't even close either, at about 1.3 million people...

Also our number of downtown areas is rather small in comparison... That word comparison, which I know is a terrible word to use... Best approach? What can I learn from the book, the photographs, the quotes, even the approach to the photography... And how can I apply that to my much smaller (perhaps less interesting?) world...

One photo and quote really caught my attention toward the end of the book helped me to perhaps put it all in perspective (cell phone photo), in particular the self pity part, something I often struggle with... And still not famous, unlike the author/photographer of this book...