• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Maybe a Bad Idea

Skylamar

Hi everyone. I'm not an Aspie, but I've struggled with a mental condition that allows me to understand what it's like to be different. I'm also a comedy writer (in the USA), with some success writing for tv. I'm posting here because I'm currently brainstorming for an original sitcom script and one idea for the script is a restaurant called Aspburgers which is a burger joint employed by people with Aspergers. I'm thinking that I'd like to have at least one female character who works in the restaurant as a regular character in the show. I've never met or interviewed anyone with Aspergers so all I know about Aspbergers is what I've read in articles and what I've seen in videos online. I don't want to stereotype the Aspergers character(s) in the script. Also, I'm not convinced that the idea for the restaurant is even that funny. So, I thought I'd post a message on this website to get some opinions. If you have time, I'd love your honest answers to some questions (answer whichever ones you want):

Do you think the idea of Aspburgers is funny/unfunny/in bad taste?
If you have Aspergers, what would be the hardest part of being a hostess/waitress/cook/busboy (choose whatever ones you want)?