• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Introduction

dspoh001

Hi,
I was diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome two years ago, when I was 19. I graduated high school in June of '13, but wasn't able to go to any of the colleges I applied to, either because of the lack of affordability or I got rejected. After that I signed up for FEMACorps. FEMACorps is a relatively new subset of AmeriCorps, a volunteer program in the U.S. often referred to as a domestic version of the PeaceCorps. I lasted for about a month, but then got fired due to poor social skills in an environment that required a lot of interactions. Before I went back home I met a girl, also in the program.