• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

I’m not very good at sharing.

SimonSays

Van Dweller
V.I.P Member
I could say it stems from my childhood, being a loner, being alone, not having other kids to play with, making things up, living in my own world. I could say some of it comes from how I look after my things, then seeing the way others don’t look after theirs and not wanting them to use mine that way.

I might say it comes out of living alone in a small camper for a couple of years, doing it by myself, and not having to justify or account for what I did, only deciding how I wanted to and doing it.

But I have played just fine with others many times, and I have lived with others too, and yet there was always an element of making sure I had what I needed, and sometimes more than I needed.

This came to a head when I became a dad, as I had to become more giving and less selfish, and for the most part I was, although some aspects never left entirely.