• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

I'm getting disappointed with my intelligence

pelecanus87

When I was younger, there were many signs that I was going to be bright.

I graduated college with good grades and didn't even have to try that hard.

I was relatively better informed and engaged with politics and philosophy compared to most people my age when I was 18-19 or so.

Yet it seems that now, as a 30 year old man, I increasingly find that there are many things that others understand that I either don't know about or struggle to grasp. It's as though everyone else made up ground and I stayed the same. Not sure what can really be done or said about this, but has anyone else experienced this?

When I was younger, there were many signs that I was going to be bright.

I graduated college with good grades and didn't even have to try that hard.

I was relatively better informed and engaged with politics and philosophy compared to most people my age when I was 18-19 or so.

Yet it seems that now, as a 30 year old man, I increasingly find that there are many things that others understand that I either don't know about or struggle to grasp. It's as though everyone else made up ground and I stayed the same. Not sure what can really be done or said about this, but has anyone else experienced this?