• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

How much are you affected by changes in your schedule?

Rainbowcat

I had to take an exam,i studied well and was ready for it. A day before the exam,
I received an email about the exam being postponed and being rescheduled for the next week. When i read the email i got upset,cause the plan of the day was to revise the study material before the exam. I tried to work on my feelings,but i got upset and disorganized. It was 11 am and i had the whole day to study something else. I ended up doing nothing what my studies is concerned. I wanted to leave behind this exam and begin preparing an essay,which takes time,this was my next step.

I am working on not getting upset when something unexpected is changing my program. But the half times i can't control my feelings of being disorganized,this of course costs me valuable time and then i am falling behind schedule.
Any advice, welcomed! :)

Routine is comforting and makes sense - but in every job I've worked, I've been forced to adapt to changes and problems.

I prefer a change of plan to be sudden - where I have to do something now. As opposed to a delay or rescheduling of an event. Future plans tend to have me fretting about the event. Usually the anxiety and worry about situations makes the even themselves feel anticlimactic.