• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Hello.

Axeman52

Hi - I am Matt, I'm 23 years old. Now that stuff is out of the way:

I have joined this forum because i'm not so much "Self-diagnosed" with aspergers syndrome as i'm no medical professional by any means, but i just suspect that i have AS or a similar ASD. I am currently undecided as to whether i should go for a diagnosis or not. In many ways i'm getting on fine without any formal diagnosis, i mean, i could be doing a lot worse. It's difficult for me to discuss it with close family as they are a bit dismissive and unhelpful, it's like my parents will make comments about how i might be "slightly autistic" and when i bring it up in a serious discussion they brush it off as "just teasing/joking/etc".