• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Eye contact..

josolito

Hi I am a new found aspie haha well atleast I believe so. Though not necessarily diagnosed I have a degree in social work and I honestly believe I am on the spectrum which has gave me so much relief. Anyways eye contact is horrible for me I hate it so much like when I am on the train all the time in my hometown NewYork I will try to do anything to not look people in the eye..it makes my heart start racing and I feel as thiugh they can tell I am getting frightened.s I wanted to know do people feel about the same and what makes you feel so uncomfortable with the eye thing??

Welcome to AspiesCentral!

I think my fears about eye contact existed because people used to stare at me a lot when I was a child. (I have cerebral palsy, so my walk is different from the "standard.") But I've learned to handle eye contact better over time.

Hi Josolito :)

I can look at people for a little while when they're talking to me, but often I end up looking just behind them, or to the side. I think I feel like I'm being scrutinised and looked at critically when people look me in the eye when I speak, which is actually what I'm doing when I look at things, and I just assume others do the same.