• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Color Obsessions

meff

Anyone else here have intense fascinations with specific colors and color combinations? I've been obsessed with pink for years and as an artist I tend to latch onto various color schemes involving pink. I'm to the point where I feel like I have a deep, spiritual, meaningful personal connection with the color, which strikes me as strange when I really step back and think about it. Regardless, when I see it used in the right context, I find myself entering a very blissful, sometimes even euphoric emotional state and it often calms me down when I'm anxious. This is something that's been developing in intensity over time, and I don't see it stopping soon. I even maintain a 'pink' tag on my tumblr blog for pictures I find that strongly feature the color. I used to have a milder but similar fascination with deep turquoise, and it's still my second favorite. Lisa Frank-style rainbows used to mesmerize me as a child, and I used to even say my favorite color was "rainbow."
I know many people, NT and otherwise, have favorite colors, but I've reached the point where that doesn't even begin to describe my ongoing associations with the color pink, and the way I've always interacted with colors. Anyone else get this?