• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Anybody else dislikes sliding doors?

RubenX

I've been renting for the last 6-7 years and as a renter, I have little control on the choice of doors my home has. But God I dislike sliding doors! They are so inefficiency. Lets compare them with regular doors:

Going through regular door:

1. Turn Handle.
2. Open door.
3. Go though door.
4. Close door behind you.

And it can be shortened to 3 steps if you install a door closer.

Going through sliding door:

1. Rotate the blinds to 90 degrees so you could open them.
2. Slide blinds to the side.
3. Unlock the sliding door locking mechanism that it's always getting stuck
4. Slide the glass door
5. go through door
6. Slide blinds back.
7. Rotate blinds to original angle
8. Slide glass door back

And that's if you don't have some additional locking bars or pins... those would be more extra steps.

PS: And the noise they make... so loud.

I also think regular doors are really easier to use than sliding doors. Plus, it doesn't take much efforts to come into a room, entry by regular doors.

But I guess sliding doors look cool?

Oh well, let it be.