• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Your Love or Your Life?

I am a professional in this field.
Addicts cannot DECIDE to quit.
When it comes to addictive substances....they do not have any control. It is a disease that will kill you if you do not stop using.
He was an addict when you fell in love with him. Do you have a history of falling in love with men that are unavailable?
I'm being rough here... but i am beginning to see you trying to avoid the truth. I'm 65.

Hi Cali Cat.

So sorry you are going through this.

I am in a very similar position as you, in that I left someone I loved very much because of his intolerable behaviour and the damage he was doing to my mental health. (I was diagnosed with Aspergers ten years ago). I am 12 months down the road now and have had absolutely no contact with him since the day I left him. I still love and miss him, but like you, I have improved my home and I am now able to live my life with much less anxiety and stress now I am by myself. I would never go back to all the uncertainty and subsequent stress of living with someone.