• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Worried about Employment Prospects post Graduation

Frostee

I Graduated in July of this year.

Regarding employment, one mistake that was not realised until June was the fact that I did not start applying to vacancies until my examinations were over. It was not emphasised to me that I needed to start applying for these positions in September of 2018, nor was the importance of a 2nd year Summer Internship - at a minimum. (Many of my Course mates have a year + in work experience related to the field. )

I'm not attributing blame to anyone here, though I am highlighting some important points that were not brought forward to me during my Final and 2nd Year of my University education that I feel may have helped with my search for employment.

At this stage, I have applied to 20 jobs. Yes, I know this is a low number but i'm struggling to find roles that suit my needs and my goals. I currently apply for around three jobs a week. Due to the lack of jobs available, I have widened my search from Meteorology to the Environmental sector.