• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Sometimes being an Aspie can be brilliant.

Cuppa' Tea

I work as a cashier and today an older man came into the store and asked me if he could use the men's room. I told him where it was (I'm too far away from it to walk him down) and then paged for an employee to unlock the door. (We have a lot of theft, so our bathrooms are locked and an employee has to punch in the code) And so I go back to ringing customers. Six minutes later, he walks by my register and goes "Thanks a lot!" in what I learned was a sarcastic tone. Because sarcasm goes over my head a great deal of the time, and I take things literally, I brightly reply "No problem! Have a good day!" and he starts yelling about how no one let him into the bathroom and screaming at me about how he'll NEVER SHOP HERE AGAIN! So I told him I could call a specific employee there to unlock it for him but he just yells "DON'T BOTHER!" and storms out! (Exaggerated facial expressions and sweeping dramatic statements are highly amusing to me, so I had to visibly hold in laughter during the yelling, which upset him more.)