• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Programming

I did a University education as a .NET developer in my late 20s. After I got my degree it was close to impossible to get a job. I was hired at a place for a few months, where they expected me to turn into a Senior dev in a couple of months and demanded that I take a 700 page book home with me and study it on my private time, and be done with all the tasks within two weeks, the boss adviced me to work overtime(with no pay) and they told me I needed to do the company's work outside work hours. It was like a huge joke. After this circus, I tried searching for a couple of years around the country(I live in northern EU) with basically getting false promises and jokers calling me on a regular basis(headhunters I think they're called). The only real way to break into this industry is to know the right people, that's how many in my class got their job. This whole STEM shortage is a huge scam. They're looking for John Carmack level of programmer. But these companies can't even pay for a Junior dev or intern insurance. Companies have to start getting charged with criminal activity for lying. All of this is really sad because I actually liked developing and programming.

Sorry that this got slightly outside of subject. I'm just trying to warn other people, that's all.