• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Must watch! Fantastic support for those of us on the spectrum.

Aspieistj

My NT son sent me this URL because he knows I am a musician and also an Aspie. This man is a real spokesperson for those of us who are different. I don't "see" sounds and music but I do appreciate him as a person who is different from NTs and who can explain to them in a nonthreatening manner what it is like to see the world differently. Here is the URL:

And here is what my NT son says about him:

This is really quite interesting although I'm not autistic. (Some may vociferously disagree!) For me, music is all about MATH. A 1-8 numbered system with definitive "rules", aka theory. I do see patterns all over the fretboard, much like the diagram when this gentleman plays a C scale. But to actually choose where to go or what to play...It's all math to me.

Wee need more ambassadors like this man. I hope this comes to you with a useful URL. If not, I will have to resubmit.

-
Nancy, near Syracuse in New York's Finger Lakes

When I was learning to play the guitar, I learned the chords in a very similar way to how he describes.