• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Interviewing

esestud

Hello everybody, I am a newbie to this forum. I am a 32 y/o professional aspie with extensive experience working in molecular biology laboratories, and I was laid off back in September after a company-wide downsizing. I have been interviewing for several positions, but have not received one offer yet, so I am seeking advice on one issue to discuss with the interviewer. Is it appropriate to bring to his/her attention about my having Asperger syndrome, and if so, what is the best way to state it? A friend of mine suggested this, and the reason why is because the interviewer may perceive my awkwardness as negative or offensive in some way, but being upfront about it may help. I have several years of experience in this field and have been employed at 3 different positions in the past, so I know that I am not completely incapable of getting a job. But if my capability is significantly more limited than others, it may be an issue that needs to be confronted. If anybody has recommendations on how to approach this, please inform me.